Childhood Memory # 1: Fried Chicken


What you witness above, is fried chicken. To anyone it could be just a regular fried chicken but to me it’s not.

This chicken was part of my childhood (ok not this one in particular, but you know what I mean).

It is the reason why I actually liked getting sick as a kid because it would mean my mother would buy me the fried chicken above, since that’s all I would actually eat (twisted huh?).

It is the one responsible for my first indigestion as a child. Who could say no to this fried chicken, even after having had dinner?

It can only be found in “La Posada”, a restaurant two blocks south from my house in Matagalpa, Nicaragua.

I have had better chicken meals through the years, but this dry, bony fried chicken from “La Posada” is always delicious to me.

It is part of my childhood.

Fried chicken, I dedicate this to thee.

What is patriotism but the love of the food one ate as a child?  ~Lin Yutang

About Aurora

28 year old female writing a blog about nothing and everything. Not apt for the serious.
This entry was posted in food, quotes, random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Childhood Memory # 1: Fried Chicken

  1. Paedur says:

    Fried chicken, that’s an interesting one for being sick. That’s a much better nostalgia than say remembering all the crackers you ate when you were ill. Poor dry chicken how she devoured thee in glorious devotion upon the weakening of vitality in order to recover her unforgiving strength and might!

Leave a Reply

